Blue Tide

Blue Tide is perched on one of the highest dunes along scenic Highway 30A in Seacrest Beach. It is a small complex with 18 units, all Gulf-front with awesome views.  Beach access is directly out your back door using our private walkway. Cool down in the pool after a long day in the sand and surf.  Enjoy the 30A bike and walking trail to access local shopping, restaurants, and recreational activities at Alys, Rosemary, and Seacrest Beaches.

The complex has also just received crisp white new exterior paint. We can't wait to show you new photos!

Blue Tide Features:

  • Gulf-front
  • Private beach access
  • Community pool
  • Grill and picnic tables

Availability Calendar

Days marked in red are unavailable.

Search
Sorted by Default
168078

Blue Tide 3B

  • 3 bedroom
  • 3 bathroom
  • 8 guests
  • Seacrest
  • Condominium
  • Gulf Front
  • Community Pool
$166/night
4.8 (27)
134686

Blue Tide 6A

  • 2 bedroom
  • 1 bathroom
  • 6 guests
  • Seacrest
  • Condominium
  • Gulf Front
  • Community Pool
$117/night
4.8 (19)

Guest Reviews

0 of 5 average


Great Location

by Gainesville GA

5 of 5

Fantastic Location, quiet and family oriented condo building.

Response from Benchmark Management

Hi there, thanks for staying with us at Blue Tide! We are so happy to hear that you were pleased with the condo and the location. We do our best to maintain these properties and provide our guests with an excellent beach vacation experience as such we truly appreciate this feedback. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us! We hope we can welcome you again for another lovely beach vacation! Regards, Benchmark Management

Submitted on Sep 7, 2023


Fabulous!

by Memphis TN

5 of 5

Benchmark Management was great! They delivered more than expected. They kept us Informed before we left, when we arrived, checked on us again half way through our visit, and now after the fact. Impressive. The condo was perfect and was what we expected. The beach service - Other Mama’s Beach Service- was top of the line. They are so fun and personable and treat all like family. They sealed the deal on a fun trip. We will be back for sure.

Response from Benchmark Management

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear that Benchmark Management exceeded your expectations and provided excellent service throughout your entire visit. Our team takes pride in keeping guests informed and ensuring a memorable experience. We're delighted that you found the condo to be perfect and as expected. It's fantastic to know that Other Mama's Beach Service added to the fun and made you feel like family. We can't wait to welcome you back for another amazing trip in the future. See you soon!

Submitted on Jul 24, 2023


Peaceful Stay!

by Houston TX

5 of 5

We had a relaxing vacation on 30A! Right in front of the beach, bike trail and amazing views of the gulf! Perfect spot!

Response from Benchmark Management

Hi there, thanks for staying with us at Blue Tide. We are so happy to hear that you had a relaxing stay! We are also happy to hear that you loved the bike trail and the amazing views. We want to thank you again for choosing to stay with us. We hope we can welcome you again soon for another lovely experience. Regards Benchmark Management

Submitted on Jun 12, 2023


Right on the beach!

by Crestwood KY

5 of 5

It was just as pictured. They had just finished some remodeling updates on the outside. It was lovely. Could walk right out the back patio and there was the stairs to the beach. Condo is gorgeous on the inside as well.

Response from Benchmark Management

Kendra, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, We are so happy to hear that this unit and the location of this unit worked out well for you. Blue Tide 6 A has a breath taking view of the Gulf and is just as pretty on the inside. We are so happy to hear you agree. It was an honor to host you and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Thank you, Tiffany

Submitted on May 1, 2023


VERY UNHAPPY WITH THIS STAY

by Creve Coeur MO

3 of 5

I will begin by saying the inside unit itself was perfect. We were not unhappy with the condo. It is beautiful, & the outside building rehab will be great when complete. We would recommend the condo itself. This is a management company review for this timeframe. We received an email 2 weeks before checkin saying there were "repairs to the balcony and we wouldn't be able to use the sliding door". Upon thinking about it for a few days, this was a huge disappointment as we use the patio A LOT. I called & was told someone would go take pictures & she asked for 24 hrs. I waited 3 days & finally called back. NO ANSWER except "well do you want to cancel"? NO. We already planned our trip. At the very least we should receive a discount of some sort. I was told she would check with management and would call me back. NO CALL. We arrived to find FULL CONSTRUCTION going on the outside of the building. Scaffolding, tools on the boardwalk, plastic across patios, concrete grinding, electrical cords, dumpster in the parking lot. One night we couldn't park in our assigned spot due to construction vehicles. NO ACCESS to the beach from the front of our unit, and we had to keep the curtains closed because there were workers on our patio. I sent an email during our stay listing the items that were problems. TWO DAYS laters we received an email saying that "Emerald Hill" told them it was just patio repair. THIS UNIT IS NOT IN EMERALD HILL. They offered a 5% discount on a future stay--which is not even close to what should have been done. I called and left a message when we returned home asking for a manager to call me back. No one has ever called. There are 20 units in this complex. The only 2 that were occupied by nonowners were Benchmark unit, one of which was because a different unit elsewhere had been double booked. No one should have paid for staying there during construction. 5% is not acceptable, especially for a future stay. We will not return to Benchmark.

Response from Benchmark Management

Dear Lori, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. We appreciate your kind words about the interior of the unit and your recommendation. However, we deeply regret the inconvenience caused by the construction work and the communication issues you encountered. We apologize for any frustration you experienced due to the balcony repairs and the construction work surrounding the property. We understand that it was disappointing, and we're sorry for any inconvenience it may have caused during your stay. We want to clarify that we made every effort to communicate the situation to you in advance and offered alternative accommodation options. We also acknowledge the need for improved communication and will address this issue internally. We offered a discount on a future stay as we hoped your family would return once construction was complete and we could provide the peaceful, luxury stay you had in mind when booking with us. We do our best to constantly improve, and hope that you will reconsider your decision to return as we have carefully taken guest feedback and adjusted our operations accordingly after a hectic spring and summer season. We would be delighted to provide a more enjoyable experience for your family in the future! Sincerely, Benchmark Management

Submitted on Apr 6, 2023